Tags

, , ,

R-Pi Set Up

R-Pi Set Up

Finally! I get the time to tinker with my Raspberry Pi again. This time round, I set it up in my hall instead of the lab. I’ve reimage the SD card and it works fine. Just that the display is a bit out of the place in my monitor. All I have to do is to google and look for how to configure the “overscan”.

Raspberry Pi

Hello R-Pi

Here is the reference link: Troubleshooting

To edit the config file, enter the command below in the console window:

sudo nano /boot/config.txt

To save, press CTRL+X.

To reboot, type sudo shutdown -r now
I tried several values for the overscan but I could not adjust to my monitor screen exactly. And there is a colour splash. I guess the GPU is too much for my old monitor to handle.

R-Pi overscan

R-Pi overscan

Finally I chose HDMI safe mode and what a surprise! I guess this is the best for my pill dispenser application as it is mostly for the elderly and they need large font and image. Haha!

Raspberry Pi HDMI safe

Raspberry Pi HDMI safe

Next up, here is a record of things I did:
1. install tightvncserver (so that I can use my laptop to access R-Pi) sudo apt-get tightvncserver
2. install scrot to print screen R-Pi sudo apt-get install scrot
3. change R-Pi IP address from dhcp to static by changing iface eth0 inet dhcp to iface eth0 inet static. This is so that it can be configured as Web Server later on. The details of the network (address, netmask, network, broadcast, and gateway) have to added into the file. Read more here. //delayed because Wifi isn’t configured yet.
4. install virtual keyboard sudo apt-get install matchbox .Then go to accessories>keyboard
5. install FTP sudo apt-get install vsftpd .See here and here for more info. -anonymous_enable=YES Change To anonymous_enable=NO

That’s all for the time being. 🙂

