Tags

, ,

Now that my Raspberry pi Camera is ready (see the hardware setup here) there are another 5 steps to follow in order to let the Pi Camera function:

  1. Boot Raspberry Pi and Log in
  2. Update Raspbian sudo apt-get update
  3. Upgrade the firmware sudo apt-get upgrade
  4. Enable the camera by accessing the configuration setting sudo raspi-config and select Enable. Reboot.
  5. Take photos and videos!
    raspistill -o image.jpg
    raspivid -o video.h264
    More examples here: Pi Camera Setup
pi camera photo

First pic taken by my R-Pi Camera!!!

Opps, I forgot to remove the translucent blue plastic film covering the lens.

Hahaha Time for more self-shots with Pi Camera. :p

Hahaha Time for more self-shots with Pi Camera. :p

I used FTP to transfer the files over to my laptop. Yay! Now I can use it as a security camera for my hall room 😡

To see a list of possible options for running raspivid or raspistill, you can run:

raspivid | less

raspistill | less

Use the arrow keys to scroll and type q to exit.

Here are the options:

Exposure mode options :
auto,night,nightpreview,backlight,spotlight,sports,snow,beach,verylong,fixedfps,
antishake,fireworks

AWB mode options :
off,auto,sun,cloud,shade,tungsten,fluorescent,incandescent,flash,horizon

Image Effect mode options :
none,negative,solarise,sketch,denoise,emboss,oilpaint,hatch,gpen,pastel,watercolour,film,
blur,saturation,colourswap,washedout,posterise,colourpoint,colourbalance,cartoon

Metering Mode options :
average,spot,backlit,matrix

Preview parameter commands

-gs, –glscene : GL scene square,teapot,mirror,yuv,sobel
-gw, –glwin : GL window settings <‘x,y,w,h’>

This is quite cool!! I tried the video as well but it is in h264 format. I haven’t found a software to play it on my laptop yet.  Let’s use VLC media player to play the video file transfer to the laptop! 🙂

Next up, streaming the live images using Window!

