Tags

, , ,

The Pill Dispenser has been one of the initial home automation ideas in my Final Year Project. I wanted to start doing the project by building a Pill Dispenser but little did I know that I’ve spent one whole semester on it and did nothing much.

As an Electrical and Electronic Engineer student, I should only have to prove how the pill dispenser can work with Raspberry Pi and not on how precise my design could be. This has been the wrong idea I’ve got in my head for more the past 3 months. Here are some designs that I made a few months back.

Pill storage and consideration

Pill storage and consideration

Multilayers space saving pill storage

Multilayers space saving pill storage

Detailed designs of dispensing structure

Detailed designs of dispensing structure

Detailed design of dispensing structure for different pill size

Detailed design of dispensing structure for different pill size

More designs and considerations

More designs and considerations

Rotatable dispensing mechanism design

Rotatable dispensing mechanism design

Pill box dispenser

Pill box dispenser

I was stuck between the various considerations (pill size, pill amount, simplicity, etc) for so long until my Prof told me that Pill Dispenser alone is not my FYP. I came to realize how much time I’ve spent on researching various technologies and designs of Pill Dispenser, and thinking the best and innovative design for my own Pill Dispenser. Luckily, Prof pulled me back to the right track over the last 2 meetings.

This morning, I refined the new Pill Dispenser design that I did days ago.

New and simpler design of Pill Dispenser

New and simpler design of Pill Dispenser

As my design serves as a prototype only, I will have 3 standard pill storage tubes, 3 servo motors with holders, a few interchangeable disks (cover) with notched slit (opening) for different sizes of pills, 3 fixed half-covered-half-open disk, 3 fixed tubes, 1 collector, 1 rotatable tube, 1 servo motor, several pill cups (may be 5), and pill cup holder (so that the position of the pill cups are fixed).

The idea is to have just one small customized part (the interchangeable disk) which can be changed to fit the different pill sizes. At one time, only one pill will be situated in the notch of the disk. The disk will then be rotated by the servo motor until the notch (with opening) is at the opening of the fixed disk below. The pill will drop into the collector through the openings and the rotatable tube would have been positioned to the right cup. The pill will nicely slide into the pill cup.

To-do list :
1. Draw 1 pill storage using Solidworks (SW)
2. Measure different pills’ dimensions
3. Design the disks with different notched slit (sW)
4. Purchase servo motors (4)
5. Design the fixed disk (SW)
6. Draw channeling tube (SW)
7. Design the collector with tube (SW)
8. Draw servo holder (SW)
9. Print 3x(1), 4x(3), 3x(5), 3x(6), 1x(7). 4x(8) using 3D printer

