Tags

, , ,

Down with fever and flu since the start of the week hence the unproductive progress. Also, much time was committed for Schneider Electric Go Green in the City Competition.

This week I have been trying to convince myself that my plan would work out by researching more and asking for opinions around. Unfortunately, little useful result has been collected as no one around me uses a Raspberry Pi nor a Gertboard!

I came across a forum post on Raspberry Pi official website and I contacted the person who did that project. He was very kind to share his project site with me – CMD-Robot. I sent Gert van Loo – the inventor of Gertboard a private message too but I guess he is too busy to reply me.

So I will restate my problem here again after explaining to many people.

Raspberry Pi as the web server will host a web app which allows user to control the movement of servo motors (on pill dispenser and camera). The web app is written with HTML and jQuery. On the controller side, the servo motors will be connected to the Gertboard. However, according to wallarug in his PM, it would be better to get a servo controller like this for multiple servos connection. It is actually the ATmega on Gertboard that will do the work. ATmega is programmable through the Arduino IDE on Raspberry Pi.

Now my problem lies in integrating different platform together. From the web app, I will be doing “POST” function to send command to a Python file. After the logic processing using Python, the command will be transferred to something that ATmega is able to understand. This, according to my classmates, is possible by using the serial communication between Python and ATmega. This serial link is the problem that I am confused with. How am I suppose to let Python use that serial console? From my understanding on Gordon’s post on his website here, minicom is recommended to do the serial communication. But am I suppose to use get Python to talk to minicom and minicom to relay that information to ATmega?

This is one huge loophole to fill up.

 

